Some weekends are relaxing, some are a mile-a-minute, and some just right. This weekend fits right into the just right category. After getting off of work at 11:30AM, my last half-day Friday until next summer, I headed home (traffic-free, I might add) to hit up the mall. I had to exchange a shirt that was cute but I knew I would never wear it enough to justify keeping it. Once I found the perfect teal, lacy shirt to replace it, I got the fuck outta the mall. Fridays are intense there, way too many people for my comfort.
While at home, I cranked up the air conditioner and watched cheesy romance netflix movies until I started to get ready for the Angels game. Because they charge an arm and a leg at the stadium, Liz, Nicki and I purchased three big boy bottles of beer at our local store. A WISE investment. Once at the Stadium's parking lot, we boozed it up while stealthily hiding our beers from the pony-riding police. After one of our cowboy cops informed us to get into the stadium or leave, we staggered into the stadium. Once our buzz started wearing off because the game was long and the Angels were losing, we decided another beer was in order. I think that was the lucky charm because the Angel's rallied to win the game! Of course at this point in the night we could have gone home, but why when we are feeling good? So, what came to our minds? THE NOOK! After an intense round of me watching poker on TV and the girls playing pool we called it a night.
Waking up to a FAT headache in the morning, I put on my clothes and drove down to Costa Mesa to meet up with my favorite hair stylist. She cut and colored my hair and I forked over 150 bucks. Good transaction overall, glad to not have to fork over 150 dollars again until December.
Drew picked me up for Marina's engagement party around two thirty so that we could make our grand entrance. Unfortunately, there was no parking up where the party was at so we made our long trek from the parking lot through the park and to the party. After getting all sweaty cause of the heat, we were greeted with hugs and offerings of food. We gladly accepted both. Once the games started, I knew I was going to have to kick some ass. Liz and I were partnered up and totally beat everyone. At the next game, everyone lost cause the game was faulty/rigged so that we just look like retards doing it. Picture time came next with the bridal party. Drew got to show his photographer skills and we got to show our beautiful faces. After cake, people started dragging and the heat damage started kicking in. We left and pretty much all set our alarms to 8 so that we could nap (all separately, duh).
My driver, Drew, picked me up again and we set off to Club Berto's for some drinks and snacks. Normally I love Club Berto's, but when there are people that can't open their mouth without a D bag comment, it gets hard to want to be there. I swear, I was going to punch him in the face! I didn't know if other's were feeling the same way but Liz said the same thing so I knew I wasn't crazy. And when Drew texted me from across the circle say that he was a D Bag, I knew we had a valid D bag argument. Drew, Liz, Nicki and I were so over the D bag that we actually left because we didn't want to be near him.
After a damn good sleep, I drove to Burbank to meet up with Kim to go apartment hunting. With the 100 degree temperatures outside and the smoke filled air, it wasn't the most comfortable day to go but it needed to be done. After seeing one place, in a not so nice area, we were really ready to find the perfect place. After eating lunch at a quaint restaurant, we went to Dracena to see a 2BD 2BA. We walked in to the place and just knew. It was spacious, there were wood floors throughout, the kitchen was brand new. Perfect. After filling out the applications, while sweat driped down our face, we felt a little relieved. We don't have the apartment yet bc he needs to run our credit but hopefully we will find out soon!
Driving home was relaxing due to the cranked AC and The Juliana Theory album. I finished off the night watching Sunshine Cleaning and playing dominoes with my parents and the neighbors. I lost by a mile so here I sit finishing off my weekend. I'll fall asleep in a few and see what this next week brings my way!
Sunday, August 30, 2009
Thursday, August 20, 2009
Have you ever noticed...
when your life is at a really good point, it goes by incredibly fast? I was watering the plants outside, thinking how I couldn't believe that it's already August 20th. Summer flew by! Normally I would want summer to last as long as humanly possible but this is my first summer being a "grown-up". Now I have technically been an adult for 4 years now but until you work through your first summer, you don't know what I am talking about. Now don't get me wrong, while I was going to school I worked full-time during the summer. Yes, that is a grown-up thing to do but I always knew that in three months I would start school again and my hours would go down. Once you graduate and get a real, full-time job you underestimate your love of summer. Those three months are exactly like any other period in a year except for a certain kind of feeling you have. It never fails, summer always leads me to finding someone. This year was no different from the previous; I met someone.
Now I can be happy without a guy, despite what some people say. I went 16 years of my life before I got my first 'real' boyfriend and I was happy. I took a year break after that relationship and a 6 month break after the next. And 3 months after the next. So it seems the months in between have gone down but I am still perfectly content being single. So I met someone this summer. Okay, I met a few people this summer but I only invested my time in this one.
Now getting back to the blog topic, why is it when you are happy time goes by so fast? Is it that we are looking forward to the weekend or that we want to see our loved ones or that we aren't staring at the clock hating our job? Is it a little of all three? I, personally, think it's a combination. If you hate your job, you find yourself staring at the clock, anticipating the moment the second hand hits the 12. Your desperate attempt to make the clock go faster is an epic failure. Therefore time goes by slow 40 hours out of your week. If you don't want to see your loved ones, whether a significant other, friend or family, then what is the point of having time off? You could really enjoy being by yourself and maybe you are happy that way. I believe that people trick themselves into being happy when they are all alone. If you don't have anything to look forward to during the weekend then it's almost like you don't care that it's coming up. You are working towards something that doesn't mean anything to you. Why would time move forward fast when you have nothing to look forward to?
This a really weird point in my life. Being 22, a graduate and a full-time employee has been an interesting road. Last year at this time I was lost. I had a boyfriend that I was embarrassed and unhappy with, I was unemployed and completely lost. I had no direction whatsoever and had no concept of what being a graduate meant. Now I find myself successful and proud of where I have come. Maybe you find happiness when you find your true self. People have said that for as long as I can remember "love yourself and good will follow". But you know humans, they ultimately learn by doing, failure included. So yeah, I have heard that saying but I didn't understand what it meant until I experienced it. My life has really come together. My advice, to anyone who wants it, is to focus on yourself for once. Really... stop making others happy. Make yourself happy in who you are and good will follow.
Now I can be happy without a guy, despite what some people say. I went 16 years of my life before I got my first 'real' boyfriend and I was happy. I took a year break after that relationship and a 6 month break after the next. And 3 months after the next. So it seems the months in between have gone down but I am still perfectly content being single. So I met someone this summer. Okay, I met a few people this summer but I only invested my time in this one.
Now getting back to the blog topic, why is it when you are happy time goes by so fast? Is it that we are looking forward to the weekend or that we want to see our loved ones or that we aren't staring at the clock hating our job? Is it a little of all three? I, personally, think it's a combination. If you hate your job, you find yourself staring at the clock, anticipating the moment the second hand hits the 12. Your desperate attempt to make the clock go faster is an epic failure. Therefore time goes by slow 40 hours out of your week. If you don't want to see your loved ones, whether a significant other, friend or family, then what is the point of having time off? You could really enjoy being by yourself and maybe you are happy that way. I believe that people trick themselves into being happy when they are all alone. If you don't have anything to look forward to during the weekend then it's almost like you don't care that it's coming up. You are working towards something that doesn't mean anything to you. Why would time move forward fast when you have nothing to look forward to?
This a really weird point in my life. Being 22, a graduate and a full-time employee has been an interesting road. Last year at this time I was lost. I had a boyfriend that I was embarrassed and unhappy with, I was unemployed and completely lost. I had no direction whatsoever and had no concept of what being a graduate meant. Now I find myself successful and proud of where I have come. Maybe you find happiness when you find your true self. People have said that for as long as I can remember "love yourself and good will follow". But you know humans, they ultimately learn by doing, failure included. So yeah, I have heard that saying but I didn't understand what it meant until I experienced it. My life has really come together. My advice, to anyone who wants it, is to focus on yourself for once. Really... stop making others happy. Make yourself happy in who you are and good will follow.
Sunday, August 16, 2009
Time Flies When You Stop Paying Attention
When one of my political science professors bestowed a quarter long project to our class, I initially groaned with contempt. Start a political blog. I know, a blog, how hard could that be? Keeping a blog that involves politics can, however, be challenging. The guidelines were to write 5 times a week including links, photos and getting comments. Writing a blog involves time, research and interest. Being a full-time student who worked 30 hours plus, time was always an issue. Writing five times a week about current events in politics was pretty difficult but became easier as time went on. The presidential primaries were full force at the time I started my blog which gave me all the ammo I needed to keep up to date on politics. All in all, I think the blog was one of the best projects I was given in college. A year later, I look back on my blog and realize that I wish I had kept up on it. I used to pride myself on being knowledgeable on what is going on in the world. And while not completely clueless, I still feel like I should know more about what is going on.
This leads me to why I decided to write in my blog again. I want an outlet. While I know getting blog followers is difficult, I am not blogging for followers, I am blogging for myself. Politics are not going to be my main subject for discussion but I will include some stories that I feel drawn to. I primarily want to speak my mind. Generally, those who know me would tell you I am not the most open person. I find that writing is a more productive form of expression. Not only can I think about what I want to say, but I can delete or explain the "thoughts" that might be harder to write about. I also feel uncomfortable talking about politics face to face because it causes tension between the best of friends. Especially when both parties "know" that they are right. Everyone is right in their own mind. I mean, being right is a matter of speculation. What is right? It varies from person to person, which makes it hard to quantify. So for arguments sake, I am going to post how I feel. Whether correct or not, it is all my honest opinion and/or true experiences.
This leads me to why I decided to write in my blog again. I want an outlet. While I know getting blog followers is difficult, I am not blogging for followers, I am blogging for myself. Politics are not going to be my main subject for discussion but I will include some stories that I feel drawn to. I primarily want to speak my mind. Generally, those who know me would tell you I am not the most open person. I find that writing is a more productive form of expression. Not only can I think about what I want to say, but I can delete or explain the "thoughts" that might be harder to write about. I also feel uncomfortable talking about politics face to face because it causes tension between the best of friends. Especially when both parties "know" that they are right. Everyone is right in their own mind. I mean, being right is a matter of speculation. What is right? It varies from person to person, which makes it hard to quantify. So for arguments sake, I am going to post how I feel. Whether correct or not, it is all my honest opinion and/or true experiences.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
